YMC*A 2021

hosted at

Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

and on Zoom

August 2-13, 2021


The programme includes three mini-courses by Goulnara Arzhantseva (University of Vienna), Christopher  Schafhauser (University of Nebraska - Lincoln) and Jesse Peterson (Vanderbilt University). There will also be a number of contributed talks (20 minutes) as well as 3-minute ''poster talks'' and two distinguished panels on advice for early career researchers.

Minicourse Speakers

Goulnara Arzhantseva

University of Vienna

(Photo Credit: Arnold Poeschl)

Constructions of non
C*-exact groups

Christopher  Schafhauser

University of Nebraska -- Lincoln

On the classification of simple nuclear C*-algebras

Lecture Videos

Jesse Peterson

Vanderbilt University

Von Neumann algebras and lattices in higher-rank groups

Lecture Notes 

Lecture Videos


Anshu: Connected Stable Rank of C*-algebras

Kevin Aguyar Brix: C*-algebras from Symbolic Dynamics

Sayan Das: On the free group factor problem, and Popa’s MV-property

Alonso Delfín: C*-like Modules

Alon Dogon: Hilbert Schmidt stability and characters on amenable groups

Daniel Drimbe: New examples of W* and C*-superrigid groups

Srivatsav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli: Proper proximality for groups acting on trees

Marzieh Forough: Lifts of completely positive equivariant maps

Priyanga Ganesan: Quantum Graphs

Jan Gundelach: Leavitt path algebras as Cohn localisations

Zahra Hassanpour: Morita Equivalence and Partial Actions

Paul Herstedt: AT-algebras associated to zero-dimensional dynamical systems

Shuler Hopkins: Deformations of commuting squares and complex Hadamard matrices

Cristian Ivanescu: Cu-nuclearity and applications

Collin Mark Joseph: Topological Insulators

Emily Korfanty: Étale equivalence relations and C*-algebras for iterated function systems

Jacek Krajczok: On the radial subalgebra for the quantum group O_F+

Alistair Miller: Groupoid Correspondences and the ABC Spectral Sequence

Devarshi Mukherjee: Cyclic homology and non-commutative geometry in positive characteristic

Robert Neagu: Amenable and Quasidiagonal traces - behaviour under homotopy

Sergio Girón Pacheco: Anomalous symmetries of simple operator algebras

Roberto Hernández Palomares: Q-system completion for C*-algebras

Samantha Pilgrim: Isometric Actions and Finite Approximations

Ali Raad: Existence and uniqueness of inductive limit Cartan subalgebras in inductive limit C*-algebras

Eduardo Scarparo: A torsion-free C*-unique group

Apurva Seth: AF-algebras and rational homotopy theory

Sushil Singla: Orthogonality, Gateaux derivative and ideals in C*-algebras

Joël Right Dzokou Talla: Quantum SL(2; R) and its irreducible representations

Dan Ursu: The ideal intersection property for essential groupoid C*-algebras

Andrea Vaccaro: Games on AF-algebras

Bram Verjans: Bernoulli actions of type III and their von Neumann algebras

Gerrit Vos: BMO spaces in sigma-finite von Neumann algebras

Lise Wouters: Equivariant Z-stability for automorphisms

Career Panels

This year we are organizing two online early career panels consisting of senior mathematicians (from both academia and industry) from around the world with the intention of having a round-table discussion with advice for young mathematicians in operator algebras and surrounding areas. 

Week 1:

Nate Brown (Penn State University) 

Alcides Buss (Federal University of Santa Catarina)

Marcelo Laca (University of Victoria) 

David Penneys (Ohio State University) 

Thomas Timmerman (Codecentric)

Lyudmila Turowska (Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg)

Guoliang Yu (Texas A&M University) 

Week 2:

Bernard Okello (Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology)

Narutaka Ozawa (Kyoto University)

Jacqui Ramagge (Durham University) 

Prahlad Vaidyanathan (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal)

Sam Webster (Director, Pricing at Independent Hospital Pricing Authority)

Stuart White (Oxford University)

Wilhelm Winter (University of Münster)

Links from Panelists:

How to give a good colloquium:

Erdos Institute (resource for industry preparation):

Resources for picking a journal:

AustMS rankings (old, a bit outdated, but it's information):

Eigenfactor (2015, sorted by article influence, not updated since,

AMS backlog:


Practical Information

Registration Form: https://forms.gle/UQcYgaShLSiHLKjR9

Zoom Coordinates:
A zoom link will be sent to all registered participants on July 30. If you register on or after this dates, please send us an email at ymcstara@gmail.com to request the zoom link. 

Participation in person

We are happy to say that we do anticipate being able to host some participants in person in Münster. Unfortunately, as much as we wish we could welcome you all here in person, because of health and safety regulations, we must greatly restrict the number of participants that we host on location in Münster. Anyone intending to participate in person must notify us in advance.

Accommodation will be provided for all in person participants.

Traveling to Münster:

Below is information for in-person participants about getting to Münster and the Mathematics Department



If you have any questions, you can contact us at ymcstara@gmail.com.



We gratefully acknowledge financial support from the European Research Council through ERC Grant AMAREC, the National Science Foundation (NSF) through grant DMS-2000335, and the German Research Foundation (DFG) through the Cluster of Excellence Mathematics Münster (EXC 2044 – 390685587) as well as through the Collaborative Research Center (CRC) “Geometry: Deformations and Rigidity” (Project-ID 427320536 – SFB 1442).